h1

Riverside?

March 1, 2010

It is three in the morning. Surprise, surprise. I’ve been up completing my application for camp, filling out tax refunds, and writing a check for my credit card. The hardest thing has been the application. A couple of weeks ago a friend told me I should work maintenance with him and shortly after another to work at the camp store with him. For the past couple weeks I have wrestled with the idea of going back to camp after a couple of years away. This has been a very hard decision.

I found out a little over a month ago that I am twelve credits shy of graduating in May (even though I’m done with my major and liberal arts requirements). So, I need enough credits for a semester. My original plan was to take classes this summer so that I could move next fall to wherever my girlfriend is going to grad school. She is going out-of-state and is already two hours away from me now. I really don’t like it. To work at camp would mean I finish my final semester in the fall and spend four months at least six hours away. At least.

I miss camp. I miss the relationships and the communities that are formed. I miss the people; I even miss the kids. I miss the bubble that is so much freer from the world and I can truly focus on God. I would love to go back.

It is three in the morning and my application is finished. I am not sending it. I am not filling out the envelope, I am not putting the application in, and I am not sending it. I am not being called back to camp, not by God anyway. For two weeks I have been praying about it. For two weeks my heart flips back and forth. As I finished my application and began to truly feel and think about everything, I know camp is not where I need to be.

My heart could definitely benefit from a summer at camp. I do not think God is calling me away from camp. I just do not feel that is where I should be. I will take classes either at home or stay in Cedar Falls. I will visit camp. Maybe, I will find a week to volunteer. But I will not work at camp. I am glad I filled out the application, though.

One comment

  1. Im glad you didnt just give in to what people wanted you to do, and instead looked deeper at what God was calling you to.
    Peace,
    S.T.O



Leave a comment